My Problems With Truthwitch

discussionsOh, Truthwitch.*sigh* I’m tying, like seriously trying, to read this book. It’s been two weeks since I’ve started it and in the meantime I have finished four other books. This wouldn’t usually worry me but I’ve only gotten as far as page 170 in two weeks. That is dismal, especially since I’m currently on vacation and have all the time in the world to read. But that’s the problem, I want want to read everything but this book. It’s so frustrating!

The better better half of a year this book was hyped all over Twitter and on book blogs. It seemed everywhere I looked everyone was talking about it. Of course I got excited and swept up in all of the hype. When the book arrived as part of Uppercase’s January box I was delighted. Then then problems started. I was hesitant to read it. What happens if it won’t live up to what I’m expecting?

Well….it hasn’t lived up to my expectations so far. It’s breaking my heart actually. All the components for the type of book I would love is there, but it’s like trying to complete a puzzle but missing some of the key pieces.

FullSizeRender

  • The World/Magic: My first thought was did I miss something? I flipped back a few pages. Nope, I didn’t skip a page. The book reads like a sequel. It’s like I am supposed to know what the characters mean when they mention the void and the Origins wells. NOTHING IS EXPLAINED! I’ve been very confused or at least waiting for an explanation but sadly it hasn’t come.
  • The Witches: Is everyone a witch? Is this why the area is called the Witchlands? Why do they cleave? I DON’T KNOW…and it’s upsetting.
  • The Story: When does the actual story start? I have finished about a quarter of the book and there’s been a lot of action but nothing significant has happened.
  • The Characters: Safi is a bit annoying. She complains all the time, can’t do anything right and just gets those around her in trouble. She literally attracts trouble ALL OF THE TIME. It’s just her running away from one bad situation only time find another. I have a sinking feeling that’s basically what happens in the rest of the book.

There are some positives though. Prince Merik is a complete dreamboat. The first time I actually felt a tiny bit of interest was when he was introduced. A rebel prince/captain with his own ship? Yes please! And the baddie Bloodwitch Aeudon is intriguing. Is it wrong that I’m kind of cheering him on?

I refuse to DNF this book. At least I don’t want to. There are some things that I quite enjoy. I just have too many questions that have been left unanswered and it’s frustrating to read something I don’t fully understand.

Have you read Truthwitch yet? Did you have similar issues with the book?

 

3 thoughts on “My Problems With Truthwitch

  1. Ahhh, Truthwitch… Oh, yes. I had issues with this book.

    I almost DNF’d it. I was so close to doing it. I felt like the first quarter of the book was a massive info dump, but at the same time didn’t go over important information, such as the Origin wells as you mentioned. I powered through it though and gave the book 3/5 stars overall (I posted a review and discussion on my blog).

    I think… Everyone is a witch? I finished the book, but I’m still not completely sure. I think everyone is a witch, but not everyone has a special power? That makes the most sense because Safi didn’t have her power branded to her or whatever. And yeah, I thought Safi was intolerable.

    I also had the issue of not knowing where the story actually started. I became more interested in the book after the quarter / first third of the book, but even then, there’s not really a point where everything clicks, and you’re like “oh, here’s the main point of the story.” I mean, there sort of is, but it’s not anything too surprising. Yeah, I don’t know. I can assure you though that it gets better as you keep reading it. The first part of the book is just really hard to get through.

    From my understanding, there are four different elements that witch powers are based off of (fire, wind, water, earth) and an extra one, the void (which is evil?). The Origin wells are the main physical sources of each of the respective elements.

    Feel free to ask me any other clarifying questions you have as you go on (well, if you go on)! I would’ve loved some explanations while I was reading it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. I just may be bombarding your with questions. Be ready. 😉 I really do want to continue. It’s not a bad book, it’s just confusing at the start. I also have the audiobook and perhaps that will add a little something extra to keep me engaged? And that makes more sense if they are all witches, but what’s so bad about not being marked like Safi? I may have to read over some parts again because I kind of zoned out.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, I’ll be ready 🙂

        I think it’s bad that Safi’s not marked because I think there’s a policy that all witches with powers need to have a mark that everyone can recognize so that people know what your power is when they meet you. So her not marking herself is going against this policy/law/cultural norm.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

