Blogging Extravaganza

Blogging Extravaganza

Blogging extravaganza is a month-long challenge hosted by Rachel from Beauty and the Bookshelf! All the details can be found here.

Prompt: Do a book tag! 

Happy Monday! Time to do my first ever book tag. I decided to go with the Book Courtship Tag. I’m not sure who created it (does anyone know?), but it has been featured on a bunch of blogs and looked like a lot of fun! The questions are setup according to the different phases of a romance.

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

I buy most of my books based on the cover or at the very least it’s what makes me want to find out more about a particular book. These are my most recent “oh the cover is so pretty” purchases:

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

I requested A Reaper of Stone by Mark Gelineau and Joe King solely based on its summary. It sounded so mysterious. I’m so happy that I gave it a chance because it introduced me a series I can’t get enough of!

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?

Either Persuasion by Jane Austen or Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I love the style and language used in the classics. They are also my all time favourite books!

Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

Storm Siren by Mary Weber was everything I love in a good fantasy book. But the ending! The cliffhanger was utterly gut wrenching. I actually shook the book hoping additional pages would appear. I needed MORE!

Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

I couldn’t put down Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge. I started it in the afternoon and finished it in the wee hours of the morning. I suffered the next day, but it was totally worth it!

Phase 6 – Always on my Mind: A book you couldn’t stop thinking about?

I couldn’t stop thinking about Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav. Her poetry is haunting and stayed with me long after reading.

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?

I love the feel of all physical books. I went through a digital only phase for a year or two which was a lot cheaper and better for traveling. But nothing beats the weight and feel of a printed book.

Phase 8 – Meeting the Parents: A book you would recommend to your family and friends?

I’ve been recommending (more like ranting) Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo to all my friends and students. It was easily my favourite book of 2015!

Phase 9 – Thinking about the Future: A book or series you know you will re-read many times in the future?

I absolutely love everything by Michelle Moran, especially her books based in ancient Egypt. I’ve already read these books over and over and know that when I need to escape they will always be there for me (awwww).

Phase 10 – Share the Love: Who do you tag?

Anyone who wants to do it 💕

2 thoughts on “Blogging Extravaganza

Leave a Reply

