Review | Girl of Myth and Legend (The Chosen Saga #1) by Giselle Simlett

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

26722146Girl of Myth and Legend (The Chosen Saga #1) by Giselle Simlett
Release date: December 29th, 2015
Publisher: WWS Publishing
Length: 363 pages
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley

Goodreads | Amazon

Leonie Woodville wants to live an unremarkable life. She wants routine, she wants repetition, she wants predictability. So when she explodes in a blaze of light one morning on the way to her college, it’s enough to put a real crimp in her day.

And things only get weirder…

Leonie learns from her father that she is last of the Pulsar, a phenomenally powerful member of a magical species called the Chosen. It will be her sole duty to protect the Imperium, a governing hierarchy, from all enemies, and to exceed the reputation of the Pulsar before her. So – no pressure there, then.

Leonie is swept away from her rigorous normality and taken to a world of magic. There, she is forced into a ceremony to join her soul to a guardian, Korren, who is both incredibly handsome and intensely troubled, a relationship for which ‘it’s complicated’ just really doesn’t cut it.

But Leonie is soon to learn that this ancient world is no paradise. With violent dissidents intent to overthrow the Imperium, and dark entities with their own agenda, she and Korren find themselves caught in a war where they will have to overcome their differences if they are to survive.

textures set-06

Girl of Myth and Legend is the first novel from The Chosen Saga by Giselle Simlett. It is again another book I requested from NetGalley because the cover was super gorgeous. The synopsis was well, basically the same as any other YA book. Seriously, it checked off every cliché. A normal girl is thrust into a world of magic. She must save said world but faces many obstacles. Oh, and there is a handsome, complicated boy who she falls in love with. I pretty much figured out where the plot was going within the first few chapters.

The story revolves around Leonie (the normal girl) who has her life turned upside down when she discovers that she is a Pulsar. As the last of her powerful kind, it is her responsibility to protect the Imperium. However, she doesn’t want this role. She wants to continue living her regular life. This emphasis on “normal” or “regular” really bothered me. It was repeated many times throughout and because of this Leonie never really developed as a character. She just stayed the same. Oh, and her constant whining made her quite unlikeable. I had absolutely no connection with her. She could have been written out, killed, whatever and I wouldn’t have felt a thing!

When I read fantasy, I want to feel like I am in the magical world I’m reading about. Fantasy is about escape and imagination. It’s why I love it so much. I read the entire book and still don’t really know or can visualize what I read. The author spends a lot of time telling the reader about people, but we never truly experience the world around them. There is also a fine line between useful details and excessive details. Most of the novel is spent describing the physical features of every character.

I’ve seen on Goodreads that there are many DNFs (did not finish) reviews, but I’m glad I did stick with it. I’m from the belief that you can’t truly judge something without getting the full picture. So overall, Girl of Myth and Legend wasn’t my cup of tea. I liked the concept but not the execution. Due to this, I will not be reading the second book in the series.

Untitled.001

One thought on “Review | Girl of Myth and Legend (The Chosen Saga #1) by Giselle Simlett

  1. I’m sad — When I saw the cover and the blurb I was all YAY and then I read your review, and what it was really about and I sighed. I would have DNF-ed this too I have to admit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

