ARC Review | Shades of Darkness by A.R. Kahler

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

25390583Shades of Darkness by A.R. Kahler
Release date: March 8th, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Mystery
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley

When Kaira Winters decided to go to Islington—a boarding school deep in the woods of Michigan—she thought she could finally get away from everything she has tried so hard to forget, including some things from her past that she refuses to believe ever actually happened.

Everything seemed great until the bodies of murdered students started appearing all over campus. The victims seem to have been killed in some sort of ritual sacrifice. And even worse, Kaira’s dreams are giving her clues to the killer’s identity.

Though she tries to resist, Kaira quickly realizes that she is the only one who can stop the violence, but to do so she must come to terms with her past. She’s going to have to listen to the voice that is buried deep within her…the one that claims to have unimaginable power…the one that claims to be an actual goddess.

But even if Kaira can harness the power within her, will it be enough to stop the darkness that has fallen over her school? And if it is strong enough, then what’s to stop the goddess from wreaking her own havoc once she’s released?

images_0015_Garlands 030

First, this was only in PDF and it was quite difficult to read on my laptop or iPad. That said, I tried my best to get through Shades of Darkness as best as I could. The book has a really interesting and mysterious synopsis, but when I was done reading I was quite confused. So many questions were posed in the book, but never answered or fully explained. I need closure or at least something solid to hold on to.

Kaira, the main protagonist, has issues…like lots of them! She’s constantly pushing people away and hurting herself even more. I found it really hard to relate to her and the struggle she goes through. There’s just too much drama and it bogs down the book making it difficult to read. It’s not all doom and gloom though, the supporting characters bring some light to the story. However, this just wasn’t enough to keep me interested. I skimmed through most of the middle. Things did pick up at the end and this was the book’s only redeeming factor. It’s not badly written by any means, it’s just not what I was expecting or looking for in a book.

Overall, Shades of Darkness frustrated me. The idea and mixture of Norse mythology could have been great, but I couldn’t connect with the characters and lost interest halfway through. It looks like this is going to become a series and sadly I think I won’t be joining Kaira and friends on their next adventure.

Untitled.001

One thought on “ARC Review | Shades of Darkness by A.R. Kahler

Leave a Reply

