Top Ten Tuesday

Untitled.001
Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. The theme this week is ten books that you enjoyed that were not from your usually genre(s). This was hard for me and I had to look back over the past few years to see what I have read. To be honest, I usually don’t stray outside of the fantasy or historical fiction genres. I like the idea of escaping while reading and traveling to a different world or time period. Most of the books outside of my usual genres have been books I’ve used for read-alouds in my classroom or recommended (as in forced on me) by friends. However, I am trying to mix it up a bit with some contemporary fiction and have recently fallen in love with poetry.

Here is my list of books that I have enjoyed outside of my usual genres (again in no particular order):

  1. Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira
  2. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
  3. Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav
  4. Lullabies by Lang Leav
  5. Dirty Pretty Things by Michael Faudet
  6. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
  7. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
  8. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  9. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
  10. Cut by Patricia McCormick

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Eleanor & Park was good, but I love RR’s adult books – Attachments and Landline!

    The Lovely Bones creeped me right the heck out. I’ve steadfastly refused to see the film, because I know Stanley Tucci will be incredibly convincing, and then I’ll never be able to enjoy his other films! 😆

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

