Top Ten Tuesday

topten.001Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. The theme this week is inspired by Valentine’s Day (which is not my favourite holiday). I decided to go with my top ten fictional OTPs. Let’s do this… (again it’s in no particular order).

1. Captain Frederick Wentworth and Anne Elliot from Jane Auten’s Persuasion. The longing, disappointment, separation… This quote gets me every time: “You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope…I have loved none but you.”

2. Kaz Brekker and Inez Ghafa from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I loved their banter and how Kaz melts when he’s around her. I can’t wait to see where their relationship goes in Crooked Kingdom.

3. Chaol Westfall and Celaena Sardothien from Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series. This, just this: “The rest of the world quieted into nothing. In that moment, after ten long years, Celaena looked at Chaol and realized she was home.”

4. Ananna and Naji from The Assassin’s Curse duology by Cassandra Rose Clarke. A pirate is bound to a curse with the assassin sent to murder her. This paring had me laughing out loud one moment and crying the next. A great slow burning romance.

5. Khalid and Shahrzad‘s romance in Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn destroyed me, but in a beautiful way. The book has quotes like: “My soul sees its equal in you” and “I love you, a thousand times over. And I will never apologize for it.”

6. Neryn and Flint from the Shadowfell series by Juliet Marillier. Oh Flint, so tortured but the way he’s with Neryn is so gentle and beautiful. Ms. Marillier sure knows how to write the perfect male lead.

7. Claire Randall and Jamie Fraser from Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series are more than perfect! So intense!!

8. Feyre and Tamlin from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. These two made my heart swoon and my stomach do flip-flops. I’m nervous for A Court of Mist and Fury though. Ms. Mass always messes with my feelings.

9. Alina Starkov and Mal Oretsev were always meant for each in Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy. “I felt as I always had in his arms—complete, like I was home” … oh my poor heart!

10. Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy in Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice have always been one of my favourite couples. What I enjoy most about this couple is how they are equals in many ways – intelligent, self-confident, witty.

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

