Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

25944381

Two women on either side of the Silver-Red divide tell the stories no one else knows.


Cruel Crown consists of two prequel novellas (Queen Song and Steel Scars) and a sneak peak at the first four chapters of Glass Sword, the sequel to Red Queen.

Queen Song tells the story of Coriane, an unhappy young woman from a poor noble Silver family. When her family moves to the capital, she falls in love with the future king. However, Coriane must be careful with her thoughts as certain nobles opposed to her rise in status can read her mind and use it against her.

I liked Queen Song as it gave a more well-rounded image of the woman only mentioned in Red Queen. Her story is simply heartbreaking, constantly feeling alone and isolated. At about 50ish pages most of the story focused on her life before meeting Prince Tibe and I wish Aveyard would have focused more on her life as the Queen. There is still so much I want to know!

Farley, a freedom fighter in the Scarlet Guard, has her story told in Steel Scars. The story introduces Farley as an established member of the Scarlet Guard who are trying to move their operations into Norta. I didn’t really connect with Farley or any of the characters. In Red Queen she’s a really fascinating and mysterious character. Here, I felt weighed down by the constant reports and code names. I did enjoy that was Mare’s brother was significantly featured.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t read the Glass Sword preview. I never read the sneak peak in any book. Either give me the whole book or nothing at all, but I guess it will get many people excited about the release on February 9th. Overall, I enjoyed learning more about these two women and I can’t wait to read what’s going to happen next in Glass Sword! 

3 Stars

AddtoGoodreads

 

2 thoughts on “Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I really need to check this out, it seems to be pretty interesting! But maybe I’ll just read Glass sword instead I don’t know 😀
    However, I always love to learn more about certain characters in books though.
    Really like your blog (and the header image) *followed*
    We seem to have a similar book taste! 😀

    Like

    • Thank you very much 🙂 I’m heading over to check yours out. The novellas are quite quick to read and it adds a little bit to the story, but you can totally skip them and read Glass Sword without missing anything.

      Like

Leave a Reply

